What do you think about 2001 - 2002 Explorer Sport SUV? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

What do you think about 2001 - 2002 Explorer Sport SUV?

DREMEE

Reaction score
City, State
Flagstaff, AZ
Please help. I need to know about the Ford Explorer Sport 2001 - 2002 which have V6 4.0L. Is it a reliable SUV? How is its transmission and engine? Do you recommend it for a snow?

I'm a student so I need a car to serve me not to take all my money lol!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Very reliable as long as they have been decently maintained. If you're a student on a budget, be aware that they use a bunch of gas though.

Are you referring to a 2-door Explorer Sport or the pickup version the Sport Trac?

I'm really confused between the 3rd generation 4 doors and Explorer Sport 2 doors 2nd generation "SUV not the trac not the pickup"! What do you think?

let me do it right, I'm confused between this model:

FEC95599_18.jpg

and this model:
5T45X55R23kc3m63ofbb2437247c3654e1511.jpg

Asks about an '01-'02 Sport. Posts pictures of said vehicle. Also posts picture of a 4-door Gen 3. Posts it in the Sport Trac forum.

I think they're all great vehicles. Maintenance will cost the same as any other vehicle of a similar age if it's been properly maintained by the former owners. The transmission may be a weak point, but there aren't many vehicles with transmissions that wow anybody. Especially in this price range and common duty vehicles. The 4.0 engine is adequate and pretty reliable. Timing chain rattles are somewhat common.

let me do it right, I'm confused between this model:

FEC95599_18.jpg

and this model:
5T45X55R23kc3m63ofbb2437247c3654e1511.jpg