Status
Not open for further replies.

94fourdoor

Reaction score
City, State
Bakersfield, California
Year, Model & Trim Level
1994 XLT Four Door
This is the old thread and since photobucket changed their policy, the pictures were dead links. I moved all the pictures and info to a new thread so it can help people for years to come.

This is my rough draft of my first how to thread. I apologize up front as I am new to this and will surely screw something up! Also, this is for informational purposes only and any and all problems/accidents/injuries/divorces/pimp-slaps/etc. that may occur are the sole responsibility of the person that refuses to man-up. That being said, here we go.
Unfortunately, my computer crashed during the process of the swap and taking pictures and A LOT of my pics were lost, for this I am truly sorry as I tried hard to take as many photo opportunities as possible. Between the few that I was able to recover and the ones I had already saved to the internet, I have the bare bones basics. If anyone has any pics that might help/benefit someone attempting this swap, please send them to me and I will be sure and credit you in my thanks.

***It should also be noted that, besides the transmission itself, I used all new parts for this swap. I can tell you right now that it makes the swap itself A LOT easier and peace of mind after it is finished. If you do not use ALL new parts during this swap, AT LEAST USE A NEW SLAVE CYLINDER AND THROW OUT BEARING!!!! It is one of the harder parts to change out when it fails and for the price, cheap insurance!***

Additional important info added here as received:

Courtesy of snoranger: If you have a 93-94 Limited, The dash harness is not the same as any other model. You do not have the jumper plug for the clutch switch. They came as auto ONLY, you will have to do your own wiring.

A how-to on auto to manual swap -1st gen.