Problem With Towing

jay1028

Reaction score
City, State
N.E Florida
Year, Model & Trim Level
1996 XLT V8
Problem With Towing - updated Photo

Explorer is in dealer and they can't tell me exactly what is wrong. I need to get this problem fixed and maybe some one here can help.

96 XLT V8 D4 4R70W, 135K miles. I have been towing an RV (5400lbs) for about 15 years with no problems. Recently, after a 90 mile trip towing everything went wrong. When stopped at a traffic light exiting the highway, the truck wanted to stall. After the light changed, there was an extreme loss of power for another 15 miles while traveling to the campground going 45mph. Arriving at the campground, the idle smoothed out and after unhitching and going into town, the power was back and all was fine. On the trip back home days later, the same thing happened again after coming to a stop to exit the highway.

Dealer says EGR set codes but tech does not think that would cause the problem I am having. They want $600 to replace EGR and solenoid but are not certain that will fix the situation and are not really advising to do it since it may not fix it.

Plugs and wires were changed at 70K and new fuel filter and trans flush before the trip. They say fuel pressure is OK and O2 sensors OK.

Any one help me here?

Jay

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I would like to know the exact codes-could be as simple as blown out egr hoses or a dpfe, I also wonder if the catalytic converters are clogging.

Another suspect for consideration is the fuel pump and fuel filter. Towing that much weight has to be straining the fuel system. (pun)

If they say they EGR needs replacing, can it be just cleaned? If the cats are bad, would it smell?