• Register Today It's free!

Figured out what I want

heathmo

Reaction score
City, State
Davenport, IA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'99 Sport
Comments and suggestions are welcome and I figure since I'm still learning I'd ask to see what you all thought. My Explorer has 3.27 open differentials and I'd at least like to be able to run bigger tires and have a better towing capacity. So I've looked into 4.10s. According to the chart at the Ranger Station I saw that 4.10s would do well as a "daily driver" on 31s. I'm wanting 31s right now because I'm not sure if a lift is in my future or not, but at least they'll fit under stock height. I will also most likely be getting 4 door springs too. And last but not least I'd like to do Aussie Lockers front and rear. I do quite a bit of city driving so I was wondering how well they'll do around town and with icey or snow covered streets? Of course I do have the Auto 4WD too, so will having front lockers cause problems?

I'm asking mostly because I've been stuck once and don't need that happening again, but I've also been looking into some of the off-road parks and I'd like to see what my Explorer is capable of. Now looking at the prices of this would it be cheaper to just swap axles from an Explorer with limited slip or would my set up be street and off-road friendly?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!