Frustrated | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Ramrod88

Reaction score
City, State
Atchison, KS
Year, Model & Trim Level
2008 Ford Explorer XLT
2008 Ford Explorer 4.0, wouldn't start, couldn't hear the fuel pump so I changed that. Started right up, I shut it off put my tools away. Started out back up went to my Uncle's. Started about an hour. Started right up when I left his house after an hour. Next morning, wouldn't start. Replaced fuel filter. Still wouldn't start. Checked for spark, everything seems fine. Didn't check fuel pressure because there 2008 doesn't have a Schrader valve. Sprayed some starter fluid in the intake manifold. Started right up. So I just replaced the Fuel rail pressure sensor and it still won't start. All my research says if you spray starter fluid in the intake and it starts it has to be a fuel problem. I'm no mechanic and I'm running out of ideas. Thanks in advance.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I'd troubleshoot as follows:
(a) put key in ignition and turn to ON but not to START. Listen for fuel pump. Do that several times. It may be that your key-lock is going bad or "intermittent".
(b0 Do you have an ELM327 dongle and system reader app for your phone? You might want to try one and see what fuel rail pressure reads thru the OBD-II port.

I'd troubleshoot as follows:
(a) put key in ignition and turn to ON but not to START. Listen for fuel pump. Do that several times. It may be that your key-lock is going bad or "intermittent".
(b0 Do you have an ELM327 dongle and system reader app for your phone? You might want to try one and see what fuel rail pressure reads thru the OBD-II port.