• Register Today It's free!

Learning the 2001 Explorer Sport

TopoRanger

Reaction score
City, State
Missoula, Montana
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Ford Explorer Sport
Okay so currently we live up in Montana. We finally got the Explorer registered on some permanent plates, one more thing I love about Montana. But anyways, my wife drove the Explorer to work this morning after we had gotten some snow last night. She tried to engage 4Hi, but no dash light, and she fells like it’s still in 2wd. I’m currently working 4 hours away at a Mine so I won’t be able to touch the truck until Friday at the earliest. Being that I’m totally new to this platform are there any pointers y’all would give me for troubleshooting this 4wd system?

Any advice is greatly appreciated! Sorry if this is a duplicate thread. I have limited time to search for threads pertaining to this issue so go easy on me. Haha.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

My thoughts would be,
1st. Do 4wd lights illuminate with key on bulb check?

Have her shift to neutral with engine running, vehicle stopped. Then shift to 4wd low . Wait for light in dash indicating low range. Drive straight forward about 5-6 feet. Stop. Shift back to neutral, while still stopped select 2wd ( auto). Wait for light. Shift to reverse, back up 5 feet.

On wet or gravel, while driving forward select 4wd hi , see if that works.

There are a couple of fuses for 4wd- transfer case I believe.

Lastly, this is a far reach but it's possible the owner before you installed a " brown wire mod" modification. You might look this up on the forum, see if you find an extra switch in the truck when you get back home.