• Register Today It's free!

stock cat or high flow

93xplorersport

Reaction score
City, State
paris, tn
Year, Model & Trim Level
93 sport 4x4
ok since there are so many people thats adamint on haven the cats on our trucks would a high flow cat be worth the money or just buying a brand new stock cat be better? and something i dont know how to tell is if my truck is equipped with cali emissions

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

High flow cats have a great deal more flow than stock so it's your call on whether or not you want to spend the money. When I worked in a shop that did alot of exhaust we always sold universal highflow versus direct fit to save the customers money. Look on your emissions sticker under the hood if it's still there and if it's california it'll say it on the sticker.

Most replacement cats are already high-flow. Even the stock cats flow pretty well with the 2.5" pipe that's on there.

The direct-fit replacement converters from Carsound/Magnaflow and Walker are pretty high flow units.

You can put a single 2.5" universal high-flow 3-way cat on there, it won't be much difference over just replacing with a aftermarket direct-fit unit in terms of flow, though.

what you mean by the "y" of "h" configuration? all i can tell you is that from the manifolds it goes to back to back cats and then to the stock muffler then out to the back behind the left rear tire

Y vs H

I seem to recall that you have the older "Y" configuration: the downpipes join together in a Y and the output of the Y connects to the input of a cat followed by another cat then muffler. The Y allows the two banks to equalize pressure.

I believe the later "Y" configuration has a cat after each downpipe and the outputs of the cats join together in a Y and the output of the Y connects to the input of a single inlet/single outlet muffler.