04 Grinding Noise in 4 Wheel Drive | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

04 Grinding Noise in 4 Wheel Drive

UrOnline

Reaction score
City, State
New York
Year, Model & Trim Level
04 XLT
Hi. I just purchased an 04 Explorer XLT with 90,000 miles. I'm new to the SUV world.

When in 4 wheel drive and turning (in either direction) the front end makes a terrible grinding noise. I've searched the forum and have found many replies to this topic. The general answer seems to be that it's a big no-no to use 4 wheel drive on dry ground. I found this problem while backing in to my driveway. Since the driveway was icy and the street was dry, I put it in to 4 Wheel before I started to turn in to my driveway (thus the turn was on dry ground).

My question is: It seems that this a definitely a problem with older Explorers. Is this a problem with newer ones as well? And will I have the same problem on snow? (It just seems hard to believe that it works so horrible on dry ground, and will work good on snow or ice.)

Thanks.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

You don't wanna use 4wd in dry pavement. Try it in 2wd and see if the sound persist. If it doesn't, its probably your tires gripping the pavement or your outside tire spinning faster than your inside tire when your turning.

The problem on dry ground is that there is too much traction and it causes binding, which makes grinding noises. 4wd is not awd, and any 4wd would do this on dry pavement. Looses surfaces allow slip with allow the wheels to turn at slightly different speeds, instead of binding up and grinding.