2000 XLT 4.0 Running real rough.

ganixle

Reaction score
City, State
Florala, Alabama
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 XLT
Hi Folks

Newbie here with the mechanical ability of a Neanderthal. Just bought a 2000 Ford Explorer 4.0 with 105,800 miles on it. The thing ran a little rough but was getting 20+ on the highway with a miss from time to time that threw the "check engine" light on. Fell for the hype on supposed high end products and replaced what look like original spark plugs with E3's, new wire set, oil change. Took off to enjoy my newly serviced vehicle and the thing runs rough and misses, also difficult to accelerate. Looked under the hood at night and could see no blue fire. Checked the ignition coil and have got hot blue flame on 5 positions and a weak yellow one on the remaining one. Check engine light is on. Is it possible the ignition coil is failing and maybe even quicker now with the change in resistance from the new wires and plugs?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Alrighty then....just swapped out ignition coil assembly and going for a test drive.....I wish all maintenance on vehicles were this easy.

Back from test run....still running crappy, though not as bad. How is it that I try to do what's best for my baby and she kicks me in the teeth?

Is it a 4.0L ohv? Double ck that you have cylinder 5 and 6 on the coil properly. People think they all go in order but 5 and 6 are swapped at the coil.

Done that, positioned okay. Found 1 plug wire loose, bought the grease and greased and re-seated all plug wires. Test drive much smoother but still cutting out and the check engine light did something really weird, it came on and then flashed 4-5 times and turned off. HELP!

Flashing engine light is an indication of misfire. Any codes?