2009-2010 6R transmission question | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

2009-2010 6R transmission question

Mikey98Ex5.0

Reaction score
City, State
Wisconsin
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 Ford Explorer 5.0
Hey guys, I currently have a 1998 Explorer with the 5.0 but sadly she’s getting tired and rusty. I’ve been keeping an eye out for a 2009-2010 Limited with the 4.6L. From what I’ve read, it looks like the 2006-2008 had the 6R60 and the 2009-2010 got the 6R80?

I like that the 6R80 sounds like it’s a beefier transmission from what I’ve been reading and just want to verify that’s correct the 2009-2010 got those. Also from what I’ve read it sounds like the 6R60 is pretty reliable overall too but I’m mainly asking out of curiosity.

Thanks!