Any issues with aftermarket headunits? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Any issues with aftermarket headunits?

Blacksheepdj

Reaction score
City, State
Concord Township, OH
Year, Model & Trim Level
'04 XLT
Doing some searching, I noticed some folks commenting on how their aftermarket headunit wouldn't work with the stock system because of the factory amp and such. Seemed to be mostly 2nd Gen folks posting, but just figured I'd ask the folks with my Gen.

I'm new to Explorers, so I'll toss in what I know...
2004 XLT
Stereo seems to be pretty basic CD player unit. No multiple discs, no MP3 capability, nothing spectacular.
Has the factory DVD player option. Don't know if that changes anything.

----------------

If I've read correctly, it seems that the stock unit has no AUX input, so if I want to use my iPod (don't suggest the iTrip, please), I'd need to go aftermarket. A basic, cheap Pioneer unit was the plan. Something that'll play MP3 discs and let me use my iPod would be perfect. Would this be a plug-n-play operation, or do I need to expect wiring difficulties to make it all work?

Thanks for any help.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Go to the Crutchfield website and enter your vehicle, they then list what fits.

http://www.crutchfield.com/

Good luck ...

Been there, done that. They don't have anything that matches my situation. The only two options are:

1. With factory subwoofer, no DVD player
2. Without factory subwoofer, no DVD player.

Since I have a DVD player, that makes it kinda worthless. Also, I'm mostly just asking if I can expect any abnormal problems. Crutchfield doesn't really go that far "outside the box"...

What is your objective?