Cruising at highway speed question | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Cruising at highway speed question

Jmancuso88

Reaction score
City, State
Tomkins cove, ny
Year, Model & Trim Level
2006 explorer Eddie Bauer
So I’m new to having an explorer tryin to get the feel of what’s normal and not. It’s an 06 with the 4.6. I have noticed when driving on the highway doing about 70 if I let off the gas it actually feels like I’m being slowed down like the converter is staying locked or something. Is this normal for these transmissions? No brakes are hanging up or anything. When I step back on the gas I see the rpm maybe jump 150. I feel with other vehicles I have had when cruising at highway speed and letting off the gas you get more of a coasting feeling rather than slowing down. Also what’s everyone’s rpm at 70 mph I’m right around 2000 is that correct?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Forgot to mention what is also sparking this concern is I’m getting 16.5 mpg with 90% highway driving. I know it’s an older vehicle and things change with age and I didn’t buy it for getting great gas mileage I just heard 20 mpg on the highway and I’m obviously getting less. Just up graded to this from a 2001 grand Cherokee. Love this way more and gets the same mileage with way more power and size. Not complaining just trying to see if I do have an issue