Funny Noise in 4x4 mode with wheel turned | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Funny Noise in 4x4 mode with wheel turned

elvisjer@

Reaction score
City, State
Shoreline Washington
Year, Model & Trim Level
1994 Bauer 4dr 4x4
Hey guys
Im new to the forum and the 4x4 explorer scene. Im an automotive student and just got a 1994 4 door E.Bauer 4x4 explorer. Its great and i love it, its got the automatic tranny but a lil problem. To start with the alignment is a little off if it makes a difference. When i have it in 4x4 mode (from rolling or stop) and have the wheels turned to a dramatic angle they don't seem to spin at the same speed of the rest, it stutters and hops. IThe two front wheels spin and burn out in sputters as the truck hops. Any ideas or am i going to have to start troubleshooting the hard way?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

in 4x4, you crank the wheel all the way to the stop, and it bounces around?

sounds about right... i believe you are experincing axle wrap. or wheel hop

sounds to me like you experiancing a locked hub if e.bauers have them

So locked hub, is this good or bad? Im new to off roading. And also, this hopping is ok and normal?

i think its all normal

4x4 your not supposed to drive it on the street, this is one of the reasons... binding

It's just the U-joints binding up. If you do it enough eventually you'll start hearing a bang, quite loud, that will shake the truck when the u-joint unbinds itself. This can break U-joints.

So if i am off roAdiNG I just dont turn the wheel all the way...or is there something i can do to fix this. When i am "off roading" in outdoors areas and turning around after clearing something the car does bang while im turning around. So...its inevitable and will break my ujoints?