Help! Shifting Problem in my Manual Tranny -ideas? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Help! Shifting Problem in my Manual Tranny -ideas?

Kirby N.

Elite Explorer
Reaction score
City, State
Colorado Springs, CO
Year, Model & Trim Level
1991 Ranger
Any help would be appreciated. I swapped out my a4ld after a blowing a few a4lds for a manual. The swap went smooth and I have been driving it for 8 months or something. The only problem is that it is difficult to get the tranny into gear from nuetral when the truck is
1. Warmed up
2. At a dead stop

It will go into gear fine if I am rolling or if it is right when I start it up.

In the swap I replaced all the slave/ master cylinder hardware and plumbing so I do not think this is the cause.

I used the used clutch from the donor vehicle because it looked to be in good shape, I also used the flywheel and pressure plate from the donor for the same reasons.

I am completeing my swap by putting in a manual tcase too in the next few weeks and I would like to take care of the shifting problem if it is simple.

Please help! Thank you!

Kirby

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

How many miles are on the transmission? If it's got a lot of miles it's possible there is some resistance internally. I've also heard of people having problems with cut fly wheels and the clutch not fully disengaging but so far i havent experienced anyissues. I suppose it's possible there is a problem with the throw out bearing or possibly the master cylinder. If i was you I'd try bleeding the clutch and seeing if that makes a difference. If not get a quart of lucas oil stabalizer and some mercon V and put that in. I'm running that in my truck right now and it helps the transmission shift alot smoother.

KN,