HELP!! Sticking at 3000 RPM HORRIBLE fuel economy STARTED right after recall was done | Page 2 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

HELP!! Sticking at 3000 RPM HORRIBLE fuel economy STARTED right after recall was done

are u talking about the IAC valve?
that ive heard could be a contributor or even the cause but i think it has pretty low flow comming out the tail pipe too leading me to think clogged cat or somthing in the exhaust? but as ive probly said like 15 times already i barly know my ass from my elbow when it comes to this truck :D lol i am just learning/ getting over the omg im gunna break it phase :) i seem to have a knack for dianosing things with simple pull it out ur ass theory haha maybe its my experiance with many many ****ty cars :) first car being a 1981 t-bird :p (must admit i loved that car tho) wow i think that was a spiel and a half sorry guys and yes i am going to make a video tonight i dunno how to post things like that tho?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

put it on youtube, then copy and paste the address of the videos page on here and it will show up as a link

I bet he's got a clogged cat. converter blocking his exhaust flow.
Had the same exact symptoms on a V6 in a lincoln.

Does the truck seem to run ok during the first 5 min. or so?
The bog starts as it gets up to operating temp?
If so, definately have an exhaust shop check your cats.

what where your symptoms of the clogged cat?

it seems to run fine untill i try and push it past 3000 RPM it wont rise past 3000 and sumtimes altho rareit will drop rpms while driving...and periodically it seems robbed of power at low speeds but mostly after 60K it seems the most restricted...re doing the cats are pretty friggen expensive (im from canada so add about 60% to what u lucky americans pay for parts)