Installing an outlet? (not an inverter) | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Installing an outlet? (not an inverter)

Jacob Linder

"Roadhouse" - Peter Griffin
Reaction score
City, State
Chickamauga, GA
Year, Model & Trim Level
06' Explorer EB 4x4
Hello all...

Curious if anyone has any experience with installing an outlet? I don't mean a total inverter in the hatch or trunk of whatever. I really just hate having to carry around a lame 300v inverter that doesn't even put out a full 300w when plugged into the cigarette lighter. Looking more to plug in my tablet/laptop when on the road. I have plenty of experience with installing electrical things, just not sure where to go with this though. Input needed please!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Bumping and subscribing on how to do this.

Before my last inverter went out, I had it mounted under the back seat. It had plenty of air and was out of the way, it was just cheap and I haven't replaced it yet. My kids could plug their tablets into it and I ran an indoor extension cord under the carpet from it into my center console. So I had 110 pluggins at the back seat and in my center console. I ran the positive wire from the battery and the ground to a seat bracket bolt. I had full power instead of the limited power from a 12v pluggin.

I build cooler stereos, and I think I did what you're wanting to do in one of my last builds.

You still NEED the inverter, however you can take it apart and mount a plug wherever you want, to keep it clean, and look OEM.

I had just one of the little (forget the wattage, enough to charge a laptop, small TV etc) the size that fits in a cupholder.