my 1986 ford bronco 2 project | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

my 1986 ford bronco 2 project

baldwinboy_2008

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
1986 ford bronco 2
Hey guys im new to this but here it goes!! I bought this 1986 bronco 2 eddie bauer eddition a few weeks ago. i paid $500 for it. it had a pretty bad engine oil leak and the tires were pretty bald. it has a 2.9 v6 and a 5-speed tranny. it runs and drives great. the interior was in great shape and the body is alittle rough. this pic was the day i bought it. i have done alittle to it since then gonna post the work soon. but this thing is gonna be getting alot of TLC!! lol anyone got any ideas for it?

Attachments

• 1124111445.jpg
    1124111445.jpg
    84.1 KB · Views: 5,423

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

where are you going with it? hardcore offroad, trail rig, daily driver? I dd my bII for 2 years before I decided to start cutting it apart and make it a rock crawler.

the oil leak is probably your valve cover gaskets, felpro makes a good gasket for these that should stop that, I would start with a tune up, plugs, wires, cap & rotor, oil change, change out those headgaskets, air filter, I like to modify ford airboxes so they are open on the bottom so they are less restrictive. get rid of those running boards, imo they are pretty lame, but the rest really depends on where you want to go with it and what your budget is. They are a fun little rig for what they are and they will wheel like the dickens with minimal modification, id focus on making it reliable for the time being.

Welcome.
Been to Grand Junction and even did some wheeling around that area up in the flat top mountains in a 73 Toy Land Cr back in the early 70s.
I agree what Anderson said.