Need Brake Pad and Rotor Recommendation | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Need Brake Pad and Rotor Recommendation

96ExpXLT

Reaction score
City, State
Columbus, GA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'96 XLT
I have a 96 XLT V6 with over 300K miles. I need to replace the pads and rotors, and this is my first time doing the job myself. I would like some recommendations on quality pads and rotors that are carried by local parts stores like Advanced Auto, Autozone, O'Reilly, or Napa. I don't need anything high performance just a good quality part. I do mostly highway driving.

Thanks.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

i'm using Autozone Cmax ceramics on my trucks. i'm very happy with them. no dust, no noise (i always use brake-quite), smooth quick stops, free replacements as long as i own the vehicles. Wagner TQ's are good too.

Another thumbs up for Wagner ThermoQuiet Ceramics. Based on popularity and positive reviews they are hard to fault.

For rotors, OEM or a well known name brand are more than adequate for daily driving. (Some Ebay brands can be sketchy)

Another thumbs up for Wagner ThermoQuiet Ceramics. Based on popularity and positive reviews they are hard to fault.

For rotors, OEM or a well known name brand are more than adequate for daily driving. (Some Ebay brands can be sketchy)

yeah, cheap foreign rotors don't meet OE specs and who knows what crap is in the iron they're made out of. I'd pay the extra money and get Wagner or another U.S. made brand.

Trumps up for Wagner Rotor and pads. I use those for all cars in my family including Explorer. They run rebates sometimes which could lower your final cost significantly.

I thought there was pretty much zero USA made rotors.

I run Carquest pads and rotors, which are rebadged Raybestos.