PLEASE HELP a newb figure out if this Explorer is worth it! | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

PLEASE HELP a newb figure out if this Explorer is worth it!

RomanticRevolver

Reaction score
Hey guys...I'm a newb to this site...I found it while searching info on transfer cases for a '98 Explorer 4x4. I have the opportunity to purchase a 1998 Ford Explorer 4x4. Here's the info:

It has 151k miles, the motor and transmission are in excellent condition, but the guy said there might be some problems w/ the transfer case...He was asking $750, but I talked him down to $600. The carfax checks out, and plus, he is the original owner w/ a folder full of reciets, service records, etc.

IS IT A GOOD DEAL? I really need a car ASAP. Any input would be GREATLY appreciated!
Thanks!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I would say that, yes, it would be worth it. Even if it dies in a month or 2 you could part it out for more than that.

Welcome to the forum!

Absolutely! For $600 its a steal...what are the "problems" with transfer case..a good change of fluid may quiet it down..or it may just be the shift motor...

what does the transfer case do/control? how will a bad or slightly bad transfer case affect the cars ride? We honestly don't do that much driving, and when we do drive it would be local (say 5-10 miles round trip). As far as the rest of the car, the interior/exterior is immaculate, and when i test drove it, it felt like a brand new explorer.
So, is it worth it?

Thanks so much again for the help/info!