• Register Today It's free!

Rumble from down under!

webberz

Reaction score
City, State
Reading, Pa
Year, Model & Trim Level
2004 Explorer Limited 4.6
I'm sure there is a previous thread to discuss all of the issues I'm about to displace here. If it was not so darn cold, and I was lucky enough to have a heated garage, I'd just crawl under and poke around. In the meantime, I'll try to get some feedback. First and foremost. I am a noob:) This is my 2nd explorer, and my entire family has them after I bought my 98 explorer. Onto the present day, I have a 2004 limited with the 4.6v8. Lately she has developed some interesting wear and tear sounds.

A rumble upon deceleration between 45mph-55mph. A much louder rumble at or around 55mph+ Sounds like a drivetrain issue, but I am a visual person. I have replaced the front 2 wheel hubs about 20k or less.

2 weeks ago I noticed I had no heat. I flopped through the control settings, after turning temp down to 60 and back up to 90 I would get heat. Something inside me suggested I should pop the hood. No radiator fluid in reservoir. Filled reservoir in walmart parking lot, yesterday, no radiator fluid. No apparent leaks. No stains, but again, too dang cold to really look.

Next on the agenda, yesterday, after driving to work I noticed that if the rpms were around 1200 that there was a hesitation or loss of drive, or buck, interruption, loss of power? Rather alarming to say the least. I drive 19 miles one way twice a day. On the way home, the service engine soon light blinked a few times and then disappeared. I have a obdII tool, but it didn't pick the intermittent code or codes up. It's cold here right now, about 0-14F. I checked the oil to see if there was water in there. No water thank God!!

I hear a whine sometimes coming from the driver's side of the engine compartment, or at least that's where it seems come from. It usually dissipates before I can pop the hood and listen closely.