Nail in tire question | Page 2 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Nail in tire question

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

my local small tire shop has plug patches , they push the plug through from the inside and it has a patch attached , id fix it either way and put it on the rear , also if you can take the wheel off and bring it to your tire place , if they ask its a spare ,

I’d certainly plug it. Plugs and patches are permanent repairs. I’ve had tires with less than 1,000 miles get punctured, and never had a repair leak or cause a problem. I see no reason to waste over $150 on a new tire.

One question is did you buy 4 new tires last time or 5? If only 4, how old is the spare? If very old then I'd think about putting the current tire there after patched.

I work as a tire tech and I've repaired lots of tires that have nails that close to the sidewall. If the object is straight in the tire and not angled towards the sidewall it should be repairable. I wouldn't be afraid to find someone who will patch it.

That's close but if the cords haven't already broken, plug it and watch it, I had that on my Eddie Bauer at one point, still holding too.

I’d certainly plug it. Plugs and patches are permanent repairs. I’ve had tires with less than 1,000 miles get punctured, and never had a repair leak or cause a problem. I see no reason to waste over $150 on a new tire.

I just put brand new toyos on my wife's explorer and not more then 2 weeks goes buy and she ran over a nail in almost the same place. I even have the hazard warranty on them, but rather then wasting part of my day at the tire shop, I just pulled it off and put a plug in it.

have it patched the plugs are a temp fix imho
roscoe
@roscoe 0202