Another Stupid Winch Question | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Another Stupid Winch Question

Pearlkobra12

Reaction score
City, State
Northfield, Minnesota
Alright i'm still fairly new to the whole 4wd world. I don't have the money right now to put any serious lift mods ( as much as i want to go rock crawling:mad:). But i still mess around in some pretty muddy areas. I have a 2000 ex sohc. I have gotten myself into some pretty sticky situations where a winch would of been SO nice so i wouldn't of had to get pulled out by another truck. I want to buy a winch but im on a strict budget. I saw 4wheelparts.com has the smittybilt xrc8 for $300. It is much cheaper then ones that compare horsepower/weight wise. Everything else seems to be around $500. My goal would to be to spend maybe $500 if not less on a winch and me making a custom brush guard to mount it to. Any suggestions/comments? THanks guys/gals this site has paid itself back 400 times already. Nathan

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!