Lets do 4.56 Gears on this 4.0L 06'.. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Lets do 4.56 Gears on this 4.0L 06'..

engineeering

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
06 explorer xlt 4x4
Hi All...

Its decided... 4.56 gears going into my 2006 4th Gen XLT 4X4 4.0L V6. Now.... what else should I do at the same time? And what gears should I go with? Are there swap options from Jeeps or other stock Fords? I have access to lots of salvage but I will probably purchase new if swap options are limited....

Been doing some research but I am not an expert with gears. I'm open to limited slip options but my main goal is to change to 4.56 gears.

I did a bunch of reading and this is the best source of data here. http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=317166 Been reading through it a bunch but I want 4.56 and I think I need help with the carrier options if I go limited slip. Also... if I keep an open diff... which 4.56 gears will fit in my stock carriers?

Be awesome if some of you have some knowledge to chime in!!! I promise to provide pictures and progress info for future bloggers :)

Thanks!!

edit... My need for lower gearing (higher ratio) is because I have large tires and a manual swap resulting in a very high gearing and bottom-end needs some serious help. I want to make sure my highway cruising is not to high on the rpm.... so see my Table below for my actual speeds/rpms as a result of my current setup (currently have 3.73... ~90% sure cause no tag on diff) and the selected 4.56. I also have 4x4 so I need front and rear!

EDIT: see below ratio/rpm table since I thought I actually had 3.53 and this table is incorrect.
GearSelectionTable.jpg

some current (and soon to change) pics of the rig:
20160216_152355-1000.jpg

20160216_152305-1000.jpg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.