Multifunction switch- or- Flaher unit? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Multifunction switch- or- Flaher unit?

victoryship

Reaction score
City, State
shelbyville indiana
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000xlt
I have searched, and compared answers to my problem. I am confused, and dont quite understand the answers.
A 2002 sport trac. with rear turn signal problems. Well actually none of the bulbs, except the tail light running lamp bulb work. Only on the LEFT REAR. All other bulbs, on other sides work properly. On the left rear the 4 way flasher, brake, and turn signal bulb functions do not work.
Fuses good, bulbs new, contacts clean and tight.Etc. I think this problem is the MULTIFUNCTION SWITCH. Or, maybe the FLASHER UNIT. But, i cant see how the flasher would work on the right and not the left side of the vehicle. Does anyone agree, that the multifunction switch is shot? sorry for longwind, im not good at concise short, explanations. Thanks guys.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Multifunction swith- or- Flashe Unit

Hey Victoryship,
I have the exact same problem. Checked everything that you did, and am stumped to. Ill keep looking for answer. Good Luck.:)

Maxrich, My problem was the multifunction switch. these are said to be real notorious trouble maker on the fords. Most times the grease that ford puts in there, drys out a bit, and just gums up the works. you could try taking it apart and clean the old grease off. I just replaced mine, cause i didnt want to fool with it any longer. They run around $75.00. Auto zone can get you one, if you want. Real quick and simple to replace. You can do it! good luck.