• Register Today It's free!

Storage box under the ex?

Spicycook

Reaction score
City, State
Kennesaw ga
Year, Model & Trim Level
1994 limited
I want to add a storage box where the spare tire used to be. Now I have no welding experience, but I'm thinking some angle iron, bolts and jb weld should be sufficient for structural support. Herculine inside and out.

Thoughts, anything I might not be thinking of?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

This is something I have been wanting to do for years now. I got the idea when getting out the spare tire from my car one day. I would imagine building some sort of box from angle iron and steel plate or aluminum. Not so sure JB weld would hold it, You might be able to bolt everything together and silicone around the bolts, or herculine it like you said. You would need to hinge the lid too.

Wasn't really going to rely on jb weld as a main source of support, but more along the lines off adding wood glue before screwing two pieces of wood together.

Interesting idea, but it might be a better bet to buy a small used welder and 'play around' to learn the ropes. If you stop by Denver I'd be glad to give some pointers, but to be honist it really is much easier than people make it sound; especially flux core wire feed welders, you just point and click.

That being said, 1" angle iron bolted together to form a box frame, with about 1/8" aluminum panels ibolted inside would make for a very nice box that wouldn't be too heavy, but plenty strong. I would also suggest not JB welding said box idea to the floor of the X, as it is always a good idea to make such modifications removable if necessary.

This would be the perfect project to learn how to weld.

Is the box going to be something that is lowered down like the spare tire, or are you going to build it in the floor of the cargo area?