Search results | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Search results

1. M

Changing trans fluid on a 2006 XLT, not recommended?

Well, it finally bit the dust. "D" started acting like "N", followed by "R", then "3". Managed to limp to the mechanic in second. When I got it back, sometimes Reverse wouldn't work, and it would shift real rough into third and fourth, also "Wrench" light was on. Took it back, and now it is...
  2. M

The service tech at the dealership (the largest in the U.S., Galpin) won't even do the fluid and filter change, says if there's any dirt or anything in the worn out gears, a fluid change will clean it out and it won't work the same. I kinda understand that, but I'm not a transmission expert, so...
  3. M

I have a 2006 XLT V6 4.0 L. with 100,600 miles, I've been to several local shops, including the local Ford dealer, and all are very hesitant to change the transmission fluid because of the mileage. I don't think it's ever been changed. What is their concern with changing the fluid at this time?
  4. M

Stock radio display was dim, now nothing

Mine is a bit different. I was able to pry up the trim surrounding the radio, didn't see any Torx screws. I did find 4 8mm bolts, 2 on each side of the radio, which I removed. The whole radio seemed to move, but it wouldn't fit past the trim. I was able to get the display working by pressing...
  5. M

Who has the least modded Gen 4?

Still completely stock at 90K. Will be getting a new radio shortly as the display is dead.
  6. M

Stock radio display was dim, now nothing

Greetings all Just upgraded to a 2006 XLT from a 1997 Sport 5spd, love the new ride, don't miss the 5 speed at all! It just turned 90K miles, got lucky with this one, one owner in 9 years took very good care of it. Had to replace a cracked ABS tone ring on the right rear brakes about a month...
  7. M

Unlocking all doors