Search results | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Search results

1. I

Strange ticking noise under load.

I agree with Firefly1246, you really should drop the pan, and clean out all the bits. You will probably find plastic bits from the guides along with aluminum shavings. You should inspect the oil pump inlet for junk. As for the cover, do a search on car-part.com. A quick search shows a couple in...
  2. I

Help! Engine rich and overheating intermittently!

I am no expert, but I have had two of these vehicles with the 4.6l engine. The ticking sound could be the timing chains slapping around. The guides are plastic and a common failure point. The quickest way to check them is to remove the valve covers. You can look down the chains and look at the...
  3. I

using 4 pin connector for extra brake light

On the 4 pin connector, there is a right turn signal, a left turn signal, ground, and a tail light / marker light wires. Everything you ever wanted to know about trailer wiring can be found at Trailer Wiring Diagrams | etrailer.com
  4. I

2003 Explorer squeal with right turns only (sounds like brakes)

You should check the wheel bearings, a common problem on these older explorers. Plenty of write ups on the forums about how to do them, but the rear bearings need a large press to remove and install the bearing.
  5. I

2004 explorer differential type

Look at this discussion on the Modified 2002 - 2005 explorers. Regearing the front differential - possible solution
  6. I

Understanding 4x4 Operation NonOperation 2002 XLT

You might want to take a look at this post from a while back. 2002 4x4 issues
  7. I

Understanding 4x4 Operation NonOperation 2002 XLT