• Register Today It's free!

peak performance

Nick C.

Reaction score
City, State
Frederick, MD
Year, Model & Trim Level
'96 xlt
I'm new to the Ex scene. To get the best performance/gas mileage out of my explorer I need to do what?

I have a
96 xlt v6 it's been kept in good shape and everything is running fine. 92k.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Originally posted by Nick C.
I'm new to the Ex scene. To get the best performance/gas mileage out of my explorer I need to do what?

I have a
96 xlt v6 it's been kept in good shape and everything is running fine. 92k.

My never ending quest for better mileage is discussed at Dead Link Removed take a look.

Good luck.....

Nick,
Minor power mods such as intake and exhaust will help you on the performance end. If you can control the use of your right foot they should help with mileage, too ;)

ez
1. do regular mantenece on it. *oil, spark plugs, tranny fluid, what not...*
2. Minor mods such as intake, exhaust will help out quite a bit.
3. DON'T drive with a lead foot!

you can get great gas milage for a long time ...i mean my 92 is still getting about 17mpg city, and 21 hwy.....and it turns 11 years old next month!

I'm still pretty young but I work with alot of teenager so I have to be an example to them. I beat the occasional rice burner off the line every now and again but over all I'm easy on the pedal.

So with the intake and minor mods what's the big hype with the oil/fluids? Synthetic or regular? I bought the explorer in position to pay for gas I knew it was coming and I'm not looking for 30mpg but just a nice running machine is what I'm asking for.

Now where do I find info on the mods? How easy are they to do? (I'm fairly literate with cars) and who is good to buy from?

Thanks