1988 Ford Ranger 4x4 2.3L Turbo Diesel | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

1988 Ford Ranger 4x4 2.3L Turbo Diesel

Ebrown

Reaction score
City, State
Saginaw Michigan
Hello everyone I'm new to Ford trucks. Here the thing a 1988 Ford Ranger 4x4 with 2.3L turbo diesel just about fell in my lap for a hole $500.00. The body is kindof rusting away. I'm going to pick it up this weekend Sight unseen but I don't know nothing about Ford Ranger's and what to look for beside the above condition. I know a bit about Diesel as I have a Chevy K-5 with a 6.2N/A all built up.

So here are the question

What axles / gearing did they come with
What trans and t-case
What body part are inter-changable

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Welcome to Explorer Forum! Great find.:thumbsup:

:thumbsup:
What trans and t-case

Axles should be a Dana 28 in front, and a Ford 7.5 in back. Gearing could be 3.45, 3.73, or 4.10. Look for a code on the doorjamb.
Mitsubishi 5-speed, or A4LD auto. Look here: Dead Link Removed
Ranger front clips were redesigned in 89, so any earlier years will match.

Welcome to the forum. :thumbsup:

Man they actually made diesels that late? i always thought it just in the early to mid eighties that they did that

Diesel ranger questions

Hello everyone I'm new to Ford trucks. Here the thing a 1988 Ford Ranger 4x4 with 2.3L turbo diesel just about fell in my lap for a hole $500.00. The body is kindof rusting away. I'm going to pick it up this weekend Sight unseen but I don't know nothing about Ford Ranger's and what to look for beside the above condition. I know a bit about Diesel as I have a Chevy K-5 with a 6.2N/A all built up.

So here are the question

What trans and t-case