battery fully charged but everything dead | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

battery fully charged but everything dead

generation2

Reaction score
City, State
new orleans, La
Year, Model & Trim Level
'96 4cyl 2wd 4.0 L
car was running fine. shut off ignition for a few seconds, went to restart ignition, heard a medium loud click and then nothing. no lights, no noise when turning ignition, no starter turn when jumping battery to starter relay. lights, radio, doorlocks, nothing has power.

the battery is fully charged and nothing out of the ordinary occurred before everything went dead. can this be a fuse, or a computer malfunction? this is a '96 generation 2 explorer stock. thanks.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

im not a mechanic, but have you had your alternator tested? you can take it to autozone and they will test it for free. your alternator distributes power to al the electrical stuff in your car, so you might want to get that checked out.

dont believe its the alternator, the battery is fully charged and the dome light in car is not even energizing as for anything and everything else.
thnx

The large cable from the starter solenoid (just behind the battery on the fender) shorted out to the heat shield down near the starter on mine, which created a similar problem. It took many miles and years, but the wear of that heat shield finally broke through to the cable. Replacing the cable fixed everything.

=Vic=

A quick check for bad battery cables would be my first check.

beargap may have it, i remember the same thing heppening to an old volvo i drove back when i was in high school. replacing the cables fixed it