EGR valve not opening?? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

EGR valve not opening??

KyleC

Reaction score
I just got a code reader for my '93 XLT and got a code 33. It says that code 33 is "EGR valve not opening, insufficient flow detected". Does anyone know how to fix this or what parts are required? I tried to clear the codes but this one kept showing up. Because this is my first time with the code reader I am not 100% sure I read it right. It did this: (- =pause * =beep)

This was key on, engine off (KOEO)

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated....

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Well if you look in a chilton or haynes book it will tell you how to test the egr valve. If it is bad get a new egr valve ($40 if i remeber correctly).

Hope this helps
keith

My Haynes book doesn't even mention the EGR valve at all. The only place in the whole book that even has the word "EGR" is in the trouble codes. It was very simple and easy to find on previous cars I have had (Probe 3.0L V6, Mazda MX6 2.2L Turbo) the Probe EGR valve was right on top of the motor staring right at you every time you opened the hood. I dont even know where to start looking on the Explorer, chances are a vacuum line might have come off, something simple like that.

Well on my 97 it is located just above the drivers side header. If you look at the header you will see a tube conected to it. Follow the tube (EGR valve to exhaust manifold tupe)and at the end will be the valve.

You might want to look in the index for Exhuast Gas Recirculation system. That is what they call it in my chilton book.

Hope this helps
Keith

KyleC
EGR valve in Haynes manuel is in chapter 6(emission and engine control systems) page 25-26.

------------------

shawna l.