• Register Today It's free!

Engine Blown... Replace it?

NateB133

Reaction score
City, State
Massachusetts -Metrowest
Year, Model & Trim Level
2003 Ford Explorer XLT
So my uncle who is a mechanic tells me that my engine is blown in my 2003 explorer and I owe $4,500 still on this vehicle.

Right now the best option seems to find a replacement motor even though it will cost thousands in labor alone.

My explorer was a 2003 xlt with a 4.0 v6 flex fuel. I was wondering if I have to match this engine or if I can drop a v8 in? and if it can be from a older generation explorer?

I'm not a mechanic, so I'm looking for any advise regarding this situation.

Thanks!

Also, when the explorer stopped running, the explorer smoked on the highway and oil leaked all over the place and I'm told something blew through a gasket. Is there any chance this engine is repairable? :/

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Find the lowest mileage used SOHC engine, maybe from a newer model year and have it installed. This will be your best bet. Then drive it as long as you can to get your money's worth from the engine replacement or sell it to cut your losses.

With time and $$ you can swap the v8 in. You almost need a complete donor vehicle to do it though.

i'd say it depends on how it stopped running. Did it just lose power? Did you hear a big 'Bang'? Any noises? Does it still turn over?

Thrown timing chain and a seized motor that would be a used or rebuilt.
Blown Head gasket might be repairable?