engine knock when I accellerate | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

engine knock when I accellerate

Ronald

Reaction score
I have a 91 Explorer XLT w/a V6 and only 84k miles.
The problem is this, when I'm accellerating at least (45 mph)it sounds like a knock/rattle is coming from the engine compartment.
It kinda reminds me of what a waterpump would sound like in its early stages of going out.
It goes away when I'm traveling on flat portion of the road or going down hill but as soon as I put on the gas Knock Knock . I dont think its the lifters cause it doesn't knock at an idle. Can anyone help?

Also I get a vibration when I reach 50-65 mph how do I fix this. And lastly, I go through a qt of oil exactly at 3000 miles. I know it leaks out of the valves but how can I fix this. I'm not a mechanic by any means so be clear with your suggestions.Thanks! I'll be looking forward to hearing from anyone!!

Chef

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

All you need to do to solve the pinging problem is use a higher octane gas. I live at a pretty high altitude (5800ft), but my 91 would ping on 85 octane when the weather got hot. So to fix your problem either burn better gas or don't "get on the gas" too hard accelerating.

You may want to check your intake manifold for oil at the rear and pull the plugs look for deposits. May need a new intake gasket, or you may get by with retorquing the lower intake bolts. Do a search of this site for intake manifold see what comes up.
The oil from the intake or if you have valve probs could cause the "ping"

Have a tech look at your rig. Your engine is designed to run on 89 octane. Sounds like detonation and can be solved by adjusting the ignition timing.