• Register Today It's free!

Fuel filter clips!?

reansor

Reaction score
City, State
Baltimore, MD
Year, Model & Trim Level
2003 Mercury Mountaineer
Can someone PLEASE help me with some detailed pics of how to remove these stupid plastic fuel filter CLIPS! I've read a bunch of very detailed threads, but I still don't comprehend exactly how these clips are supposed to function. I've been working on vehicles for 20+ years, and I've never encountered anything that made me feel this clueless.

For one, on my 2003 4.6L Mountaineer, the 2 plastic clips on the one end of my fuel filter do not have any "red part." They appear to be one black piece with a little "door" that opens exposing 2 clips inside clasping the tube on the filter. Beyond that, I'm lost.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Two types of clips on each end. One type is on the fuel tank side, the other is on the to-engine side.

The gas tank side clip have tabs that pinch the end like fingers in the shape of a U. Identify them, and shimmy each side up until they've popped up and the whole clip can be slid off. Those are the easier ones.

The engine side clips are the hard ones, purely because of design.
Inside the fitting ends are a weird type of spring that closes in on the filter end like your index and thumbs squeezing around pipe in a circle. The tool is used to be clasped around the filter end, and then pushed into the space between the filter end and the line fitting. This is supposed to separate that weird spring and release the pressure. In a perfect world you then pull the line off.