groaning/grinding when stopping

85reds10

Reaction score
City, State
houston, tx
Year, Model & Trim Level
85 s-10
hey all,

my friend has an '01x with about 51k on the clock. the problem she's having is when she comes to a stop, it can be mild or hard, the brakes make this groaning/grinding sound. the harder you stop, the worse it sounds. i'm pretty good with cars, and to me it doesnt sound like worn pads rubbing on rotors, cause it isn't really a bad screeching or anything like that. i could be wrong though, i'm new to explorers. my initial thought is maybe a wheel bearing, but it doesn't do it unless you step on the brakes so...

any ideas? lemme know if more info is needed.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Originally posted by 85reds10
hey all,

my friend has an '01x with about 51k on the clock. the problem she's having is when she comes to a stop, it can be mild or hard, the brakes make this groaning/grinding sound. the harder you stop, the worse it sounds. i'm pretty good with cars, and to me it doesnt sound like worn pads rubbing on rotors, cause it isn't really a bad screeching or anything like that. i could be wrong though, i'm new to explorers. my initial thought is maybe a wheel bearing, but it doesn't do it unless you step on the brakes so...

any ideas? lemme know if more info is needed.

Its probably the brakes. The front discs always go out before the rear disc.

I have the same problem w/ my 95... the front brakes/rotors were replaced 19k miles ago. I even took off the pads and looked - they were barely worn. I'm glad someone else has the same problem, and I'm not just going crazy. Someone has to know why this happens!

this actually happens a lot with the use of semimetallic pads...... its normal....

however, at 51k if shes never had the brakes done, at least have them checked out to be safe....