I'm Buying an Explorer, '90-'95ish, Differences? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

I'm Buying an Explorer, '90-'95ish, Differences?

Gina

Elite Explorer Babe
Reaction score
City, State
Bellingham, WA
Year, Model & Trim Level
'94 XLT
Hi! I'm new to the forum here because I just decided to buy an Explorer. I'd been around test driving S-10s, Blazers, and such, and then I drove a '94 Explorer and fell in love. Well, my problem is that I'm a poor college student and I might not be able to afford a '94 like the one I drove (I am getting monetary help from dad though). I just wanted to get some information about the differences between a '94 and earlier years. I'll need to know things like:

-Interior styles
-Push button 4x4 or not
-Different engines (boyfriend says must be fuel injected)
-How the back seats fold down ('94 was one easy button, I think others have to be manually lifted and then the back put down)
-Any reaccuring problems or helpful info

I will be buying an automatic with 4x4 to handle the Michigan snow in my school parking lot! Any information would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

welcome to the site!

1991 to 1994 are the same interior and exterior. the 4x4 is pushbutton and rear seat folds down easily. they all have a 4.0L V-6 fuel injected engine.
i have a 92 that i bought in november of last year, never had a problem with it. all i did was change the shocks because they were worn. i only paid $3200 for it, and it runs perfect. no rust, dents, etc...

good luck in your search.

Hi Gina