• Register Today It's free!

Kill Switch Ideas

dreilly1982

Reaction score
City, State
Panama, OK
Year, Model & Trim Level
'02 Explorer XLS
Ok, I apologize in advance if this has been covered already, but I didn't see anything in the search. I just picked up an '02 Explorer XLS that I'm in the process of upfitting as an emergency vehicle due to the number of calls I respond to off duty (I'm a paramedic). I'm thinking of installing a kill switch on my brake light sensor switch so I can leave the engine running, but preventing the transmission from being switched into drive. Wondering if anyone else has done this and/or any tips and suggestions you all might have.

Thanks in advance!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

you need to push the brake down to make the nuetral safety switch shut off and allow it to shift into gear so idk what your reason for doing this is.

That's why, if he leaves the truck open and running anybody can take it, if he disables the switch then only he'll be able to drive it

If he puts a switch through the brake wire, he can flip the switch, so it cant be taken out of gear...

Lol

Replace the ECU bolt with a cotter pin and take the ECU with you after parking the vehicle
idea.gif

yes he can do that but now what happens if the switch is bumped while he is moving? i believe the safety switch has nothing to do with the brake lights it a separate switch i would have to look it up on the wiring schematics.

Replace the ECU bolt with a cotter pin and take the ECU with you after parking the vehicle
idea.gif

i like his idea but yeah i could be a little more helpful in a few more days when i have my discs on the explorers. give me a day and i'll think of something

You could go buy a keyed switch from AutoZone, and basically have a key you could take out for it, so you wouldnt be able to bump it...