Looking for 5r55e replacement advice/tips? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Looking for 5r55e replacement advice/tips?

ETHACK

Reaction score
City, State
nv
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 X SOHC 4x4
So I have a 2001 Explorer 4.0l 4x4 5r55e, and thanks to all the help here on EF I've swapped out the motor and the suspension components, and I'm not a mechanic by any means, she runs great, well I lost the transmission thankfully in the driveway. So now I'm going to replace the transmission, my question is are there any secrets or upcoming problems I should be aware of, special tools, or install tips? Good videos to watch? Do I have to drop the transfer with it then separate, or separate then drop, is there a gasket I'll need for the transfer/trans mount? Is there something else I should do while all this is out and being done? Is it best to cut out the exhaust or just drop it? Just doing a "simple" tranny swap with reman unit and TQ, and have no exp with tranny work. I appreciate any and all advice. TY!!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

My first question is, are you doing this in your garage? If so you will need to raise the car high enough to get the tranny out along with jack or whatever you are supporting tranny with. I would remove driveshaft, disconnect all wiring and linkages to tranny, loosen exhaust ( might have enough room to drop tranny without removing all exhaust), drop back end of tranny to get to upper bolts on engine, (need LONG extension on ratchet) and whatever you support the tranny with the tranny needs to be strapped or chained so it will not roll off on you.
I am sure others will respond with more advice and tips soon. Good luck.