No gears after tranny fluid change. I need help! | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

No gears after tranny fluid change. I need help!

supravette67

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
Ford Ranger
Hi Guys,
I am having a serious problem with my 92 ford ranger and not sure if you can help or possibly direct me to help.
First of all, I am a woman..and I am not an expert on repairs, but I try.
My tranny was shifting a bit rough so I decided to change the filter and fluid. I removed the old gasket and drained all of the old fluid out. Replaced the filter and sealed back up. I was careful with new gasket to make sure it was lubed with the tranny fluid first. I tightened bolts opposite sides when tightening and I refilled the fluid through the dipstick. I started it to go somewhere and its not engaging into any of the gears at all. I moved it through the gears while in park and nothing! Can you please help me?
Thanks
Kelly

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Did u check your fluid with it running? Its probly a quart or two low. Try checking it with it running and add as needed. Mine does that when its low

I am a retard!

:salute::salute:Okay guys, no making fun of me for being a dumb girl, okay? For those of you who suggested that I check the tranny fluid level, you were correct!! I put 4 courts because that is what the book called for, but then when I read a couple of things last night, it said to figure on a min. of 7. I would say it was about 3 quarts low. I poured 3 more in and shifted through several times and WA LA! What do you know...it went into gear.
I worked on my truck all by myself for 5 days.