Painting 2001 Exp XLT rear bumper | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Painting 2001 Exp XLT rear bumper

Herbeeking

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001, EXPLORER XLT
Hello. What type of sander and paint techiques to redo 2001 Ford Explorer XLT rusted rear bumper. Sould i remove bumper it or maybe rusted bolts not advisable..
I am a rookie give me all steps and tools materials needed thanks.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

The sander doesn’t really matter, type wise. You’ll need to use a rough grit paper like 60 to remove all the rust until the metal is clean and totally shiny. I’d finish with 80 and 120 before the primer.

I’d use a quality automotive primer. If using rattle can paint I’d also spring for quality automotive paint.

If you have a harvest gold or grey bumper that you want to repaint, once you have it prepped you'll need a base/color coat and a clear coat suitable for automotive use. The base coat can be done fairly well with rattle cans, but the clear coat will not come out shiny because it dries to quickly.

If you've never spray painted anything before, you might want to leave it to a auto body shop. I've been using rattle cans to spray paint automotive parts for many decades. I can achieve very good results on small parts, but painting a bumper is another matter.

I may just need sleep but I don't understand what you're stating. It's a metal bumper that's painted, or a chrome bumper that you want to paint, or plastic clad and there are rust stains on the painted plastic?

I would take the bumper off. If the bolts shear off from too much rust, just get new bolts. Put some penetrating spray on them.