• Register Today It's free!

Subwoofer enclosures

RDellert11

Reaction score
City, State
Trenton Michigan
Year, Model & Trim Level
'02 Xlt
Does anybody have any type of drawings for some subwoofer enclosures, or maybe a good website with some drawings up on there? I'm looking to make a new box in my woodshop class this year, and i'm wanting this new box to fit 4 12's in there to fit my 02 Xlt. And also, I was wanting a fiberglass box..since i'm brand new to this fiberglass stuff, would it just be safe to fiberglass over the MDF enclosure after I make one?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

there is no reason or purpose to fiberglassing over a wood box

fiberglass should be used to make shapes and curves you cannot make with wood

there are many, many easier and more importantly cheaper ways to insure that your box is sealed.

ummmm, yes there is a reason and purpose. MDF = porous.

And its not expensive to just buy some resin and coat your box...

Edit: I noticed I said I FG'ed my box, all I did was coat it with resin

resin expensive and a pain to use

lacquer cheap and easy to use

same result?

also probably a bit of a waste of $, but i've actually heard it works really well.

to be completely honest i often do coat the inside of my boxes with resin. however, i have fiberglass resin by the 5 gallon pails laying around all the time and most of the boxes i do have some fiberglass work on the so its real quick and easy to do one coat over the mdf part. i just don't think its a good idea to recommend that someone making a mdf box goes out and buys resin and coats it becuase it just isn't worth the $ and effort.