Removing the differentials...

kythri

Reaction score
City, State
Lebanon, OR
Year, Model & Trim Level
1999 XLT
So...

I may have just found a hell of a deal - front and rear 4.10 LS differentials for $50/each, out of a wrecked (rolled) Explorer (D2 door code).

That's for the differentials only, no axle, etc.

I'm still learning the gearhead side of things (spent too long as a computer nerd), so what do I need to do to yank the diffs out? Is there a good write-up somewhere here? Spent a while on the search engine, and I'm not finding too much, but I may not be plugging the right terms in...

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Are you referring to the carrier and ring & pinion assembly?

I believe so...

Okay.. Lets start with the front axle..

You need to remove the calipers, rotors, hub assembly, etc. to get to the CV axles. Remove the CV axles out. Disconnect front driveshaft from yoke, requires either a socket or torq bit. Remove 3 mounting bolts. Axle is pretty much free other than the vent tubes, etc.. Once you get the axle out, you can then loosen the nut that holds the yoke in place. Remove diffy cover, release the bearing caps, pry out the carrier and then push the ring gear gear out of the housing.

Rear axle is just about the same.. First remove the differential cover. Remove the caliper, rotors, etc. Push in on the axle shafts to get to the C-clips that hold the 8.8 shafts in place. pull the c-clips out with a pair of pliers from the differential. once you get the clips out, remove the shafts. Remove the bearing caps out of the differential like the D35. Remove the nut that holds the yoke on the axleshaft flange. remove the carrier and then press the ring gear or is that the pinion gear.. I can't remember :confused: