Replacing vacuum hoses? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Watson1998

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 ford explorer xlt
I bought my 1998 ford explorer xlt v6 sohc about a month ago now. I replaced the belt and will be doing a tune up this weekend but I believe that it has a vacuum hose leak. I heard hissing under the good after I turned the engine off. It was a soft hiss on the left side(when you face the front of the truck) and the truck has a rough idle and hesitant acceleration at times.

I'm new to working on cars but I really want to learn. The repair book has been no help. My question is: where can I find the hoses under the hood? Is there a diagram? Can I just buy bulk tubing and cut to size or are they specialized?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

upper & lower intake manifold gaskets

I wouldn't replace any vacuum hoses unless I determined they were bad. Here's a link to where they go: Intake manifold vacuum lines

Your 1998 has the variable intake system (VIS) so there are some additional hoses associated with it: VIS Conversion

If you have lean codes this link may help: Lean condition procedure

Another place to check which you may have overlooked ... there is a vacuum resevoir that looks like a round, black plastic ball located down low next to the radiator on the passenger side.

Your hiss may be your a/c pressures equalizing after you shut the engine off, the orifice tube is on the passenger side, and I would hate to see you replace all your vacuum hoses if it's that simple. Open your hood and see if it's coming from the a/c instead of a vacuum line. If it makes the noise with the a/c on, but not when it's off, that is where the noise is coming from. Best of luck to you.