What kind of on board air is everyone running??? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

What kind of on board air is everyone running???

Derrick C.

Moderator Drinkin Corona
Moderator Emeritus
Reaction score
City, State
Twin Falls, Idaho---------B.F.E.
Year, Model & Trim Level
91 XLT, 92 XL
I'm running my ARB compressor and I have a portable Quick Air 2.

Just wondering what everyone else uses before leaving the trail or on the trail. Anyone use CO2 yet???

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I have been using CO2 for about 2 years now and love it. I started with a 20lb tank and about a year ago got another CO2 setup with a 5lb tank. I built both of the systems myself by scavenging the regulators guages, hoses, fittings and tanks. For both systems I probably have right around $100 into them total. If you make it yourself it is alot cheaper than a "powertank"

I ran a 5lb CO2 bottle from scavenged parts also, about $70 in the system. It worked really well with 31s, but a 5lb bottle isn't that great with 33s, it will only last for a short trip, not many repeated de/inflations.

I use a truck air. was about 35 bucks at wal mart if i remember right. It works fairly well but takes alot of time to air up tires.

Matt

I use a Sanden compressor, driven by the engine.

It fills tires as fast as the CO2 does, and runs air tools. Several board members have taken advantage of this pump already. My sanden setup looks like this:

engine-1.jpg

My previous 2 air compressors was the Truck Air compressor and a Viair 200h hard mount compressor.

The truckair compressor looks like this:

13832n.jpg

The viair looks like this:

20022-200H.jpg