• Register Today It's free!

Misfire P0306

deneggo

Reaction score
City, State
California
Year, Model & Trim Level
1996 Ford Explorer Sport
Hi everybody, I'm new to this forum, and I am desperate! I would appreciate any help in solving this mysterious misfire in cylinder 6. I have a 1996 4.0 pushrod V6 Explorer Sport with manual transmission, best car I ever had. It had developed this misfire a few months ago and I've been chasing it ever since. When starting cold - runs great, then warms up and begins to shake. On the freeway runs great, no loss of power, no weird noises or smells. Once I exit the freeway and slow dow and stop - misfire code comes up on the OBD II reader. Fuel consumption has increased. I'm not a mechanic, but had to learn a few things. I understand that a misfire can have 3 primary causes: spark, fuel/air, and compression issues. Here's what I've done so far, please let me know what I'm missing:

New coil pack, wires, spark plugs. Checked it with the ohm meter, plugged the inline ignition spark checker - all ok. When the engine is on I unplugged the wires from the coil pack one by one - all make a noticeable difference except #6 . Swapped the spark plugs - no change.

Compression test: 1-5 140 PSI, 6 - 135 PSI. Didn't do the wet test to check the rings, but not burning any oil so it's probably ok.

Swapped fuel injectors - same, checked the electrical impulse with noid light - ok.
Swapped the computer - same thing. Used PCM from the same year/model but auto transmission - got a bunch of codes related to transmission issues as well as the P0306. So I figured it's not the PCM, noid light confirms.

Changed all the sensors: O2, Mass Air Flow, Crank/Camshaft position sensors, Engine Coolant Temp, Intake Air Temp, Throttle Position sensor, EGR backpressure sensor, Idle Air Control valve, EGR vacuum solenoid, and EGR valve. There is no knock sensor or I would have changed it too.