Explorer AC not cooling at idle | Page 2 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Explorer AC not cooling at idle

Cooling fan comes on. I never hear it go on high. The one time I can recall it going on high was just after I changed the turbocharger. I put all the coolant in I could waited for the thermostat to open so I could add more. That is also when I got a cilynder head overheated MIL but as soon as I added coolant it went down again. That was just to initially fill and get the air bubbles out. Fan sure kicked on high then. With a.c. on fan comes on low. Both of them. That is not a problem a.c. only really seems to cool when moving. Would love to know actual temp vs what PCM thinks the temp is. That may be my issue.

Sorry, I missed your comment about the fans not turning on High.
If you're willing to try some things, we might be able to help identify the issue.
I'm no expert, but some questions/tests that I've seen in the past with AC issues.

When you say "doing nothing in traffic" is it getting to ambient temp, or just not as cold as highway speeds? You'll get better cooling at highway speeds, but it should still be cool in traffic if it's working correctly.

When @ highway speeds, is it really cold air or just cool? If it's just cool, could be a blend door issue. If it's really cold, that should rule that out.

When you are stopped, put transmission in neutral and rev to ~1500-2000rpm and hold it there for little bit. Does it get as cold as you feel at highway speeds? It should get cooler. Should notice a difference in 10-15 seconds. Just trying to understand if the compressor is not "pumping" enough at idle/slow speeds or if it's an air flow issue.

Check the front of the condenser(front of radiator) to make sure it's not blocked.

Another thing to try if you have access to a hose. With car parked, running and AC on, spray tap water into the front of the condenser, does the AC get colder?