• Register Today It's free!

Bank 1 lean, Bank 2 lean.

PPro

Reaction score
City, State
Whitmore Lake, MI
Year, Model & Trim Level
'02 Sport
Autozone guy who pulled the code said leaky vaccum hose. Friendly mechanic said MAF...

Any other input? I understand it could be a number of things, what all should I check/replace? Please explain well, I'm still learning where everything is under the hood.

Thanks

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

If it's a 4.0 SOHC, the upper plenum seals are likely leaking. Also check for a dirty MAF sensor. Don't start replacing things as you can likely run up a bill for your guesses that would cost you more than a diagnosis at a garage.

I plan to clean the MAF soon. Is there a way to fix leaky plenum seals?

The guy at autozone reset the CEL and it hasnt come on since, does that mean that it no longer detects the problem, or that resetting it 'ignores' it? If it just ignored the problem I wont have a way of knowing what was the actual cause of the code...

Oh, yes it is the 4.0 SOHC.

No, it won't ignore it, and eventually it'll come back. I'd agree that you've got a vacuum issue. As far as fixin the plenum seal, i'm not sure...

To clean the MAF, just open up the airbox and spray the filaments with electric parts cleaner (liquid, not canned air). Some say to use a q-tip but i'd be afraid of breaking the filaments...

You can remove the 2 tamper-proof T20 screws that the sensor to the housing. I like to use a fine paint brush to clean them, you don't normally need to use any type of chemical. If you are to use a chemical, do not use anything chloronated like brake clean, as it can crack the ceramic coating. If the intake seals are leaking, they would need to be replaced.