2002 4.0 info needed | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

2002 4.0 info needed

Delta Dog

Reaction score
City, State
Gulf Coast
Hey All,

I have been hanging around the 1995-2001 guys since I have a 2000 explorer but am contemplating buying a second one........a 2002 4.0L Eddie Bauer 4x4.

On the '95-'01 side I read a lot about 4.0 issues like timing chains, guides and other issues in general. What are some of the major issues with this 2002 year model with a 4.0L engine to look for before the purchase??

The vehicle has 91,000 miles.

Thanks.........

Oh........and I have not seen a 2002-2005 with a V8.......is it even an option in these years?? If so what V8.....the 5.0L like the older ones???

Hey All,

I have been hanging around the 1995-2001 guys since I have a 2000 explorer but am contemplating buying a second one........a 2002 4.0L Eddie Bauer 4x4.

On the '95-'01 side I read a lot about 4.0 issues like timing chains, guides and other issues in general. What are some of the major issues with this 2002 year model with a 4.0L engine to look for before the purchase??

The vehicle has 91,000 miles.

Thanks.........

Oh........and I have not seen a 2002-2005 with a V8.......is it even an option in these years?? If so what V8.....the 5.0L like the older ones???

With a 2002...I wouldn't really be focused on the motor having issues, rather the chassis itself. The 2002's have the most issues of all of the 3rd Gens.

The V8 offered in the 02-05 is the 4.6L, same motor they use in a lot of the Ford fleet.

A very common issue to look for on the 2002's is broken rear coil springs, they are notorious for breaking. Ford fixed that issue in the 2003+ years. Just poke around on the forum here for a few pages, you'll get an idea of what to look for on these. :thumbsup:

I personally would go with anything that's a 2003+