• Register Today It's free!

'96 XLT 4wd problems

nism0racer

Reaction score
City, State
Queens, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
1996 XLT
Hello everyone! It's my first time posting here but I have been browsing these forums for over 2 years now and I just want to say this is one of the best resources of information on the net. Anyway, I've had my 1996 Explorer XLT for about 4 years now and its been pretty great. The only major problem I had was the tranny rebuild at 100k miles. The OHV motor hold up pretty well (just burns oil a little).

Now to my peculiar problem. I've beat up on my 4wd pretty well, especially when I first bought the truck during the winter season. I was very surprised with its 4wd performance; even if it was just 4wd auto, we never got stuck in the snow. Now, lately I have been having problems. When I switch to 4x4 auto, the lights come on, but if I go to highway speed(around 50mph), the 4x4AUTO and 4x4LOW lights start blinking 6 times. I know these are the speed sensors, but I performed the "anti-brown wire mod" to have the 4x4high feature in the control trac(on-off-on switch) to get around the problem. A few weeks ago I tested out this mod and I experienced binding when I switched it to the 4high feature(12v from cig lighter to clutch) which means its works right?