Almost rolled the Mounty | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Almost rolled the Mounty

I am a little disappointed with myself. I have been driving in this stuff for at least 15 years, and I finally lost it good.

Going around this bend at 70, the rear end slid out on me, and I hit the ditch sideways. It then shot me back onto the road and I hit the other ditch at about 55. I went off on an approach, which dropped off rather steeply into a 5 foot ditch. If I had hit the ditch 25 feet earlier, I would have totally Dukes of Hazzarded it off the approach, and exploded in a giant fireball and died.

I thought I had to have broken something, but everything is fine, I was able to finish the 250 mile trip with no problems, still drives straight. I am thinking about putting the front sway bar back on after this... :D I took it off since one of my end links was broken, and then I gave the other one away to a friend that had a broken one. Does anybody have a spare set laying around?

Drawing for your entertainment. :D

1207090121.jpg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Very lucky my friend, install your front sway bar end links asap.. summer is one thing.. but winter I wouldn't push it... and I play around a Lot..

ur really lucky

yes sir! :D

I had my sway bar link broken for one day and thought it was going to go over it was way to tipsy for my liking.

Think a dealership would have them on hand? where would be a good place to pick them up? I dont want used ones form a junk yard, as they will just be that much closer to breaking again.

Thanks for the tip on the moog pieces. I have gotten a pretty good response to the drawing on the other sites i frequent (nwuonline.com, fordtruckfanatics.com) :D